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[bookmark: _GoBack]INDIGENT DEFENSE COMMISSION – SB 203 REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAM
This document outlines procedures for Utah counties to receive reimbursements from the Utah Indigent Defense Commission (IDC) for work performed by court-appointed attorneys in privately-initiated termination of parental rights/adoption cases filed in either the district or juvenile court.  SB203, which the 2018 legislature passed, expanded the right to counsel in these proceedings and took effect July 1, 2018. 

Using the forms available at https://idc.utah.gov/sb-203, counties should: 
1. Designate attorneys eligible for such court-appointments in their jurisdiction. 
Counties may also await court-appointment of an attorney, which the court will do from a roster of eligible attorneys, available to counties and the courts. 
2. Enter into a contract with court-appointed attorneys in these cases. An attorney contract is available on the IDC website.
3. Ensure contract attorneys have the IDC attorney invoice form to track attorney and paralegal hours worked on a case, as well as defense resources incurred; 
4. Collect documents: Including attorney invoices, defense resources forms, and orders of appointment; 
5. Pay attorneys on a monthly or quarterly basis;  
6. Submit Quarterly: all documents, proof of payments, and IDC reimbursement forms, for reimbursement within 30 days after the end of each quarter. 
All IDC reimbursement requests must be made by email to IDC@utah.gov, with the subject: “Contested Adoptions: Reimbursement Request (County Name).”
*IDC reimbursement rates are as follows:
· Attorney Fees - $75/hr & Paralegal Services - $40/hr
· Defense Resources - $500 (per transaction, not per case) 
· Defense Resources include: investigators, experts, evaluations, subpoenas, transcripts, record requests, forensic tests, and witness fees. 
· Defense resources exceeding $500, require written pre-authorization from the IDC and county using the IDC defense resources form. 
Contact Keisa Williams at the IDC with questions. (385) 227-1426/ keisaw@utah.gov 
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